Saturday, April 20, 2013

LANGKAWI - Islands and travel

Langkawi, officially known as Langkawi, the Jewel of Kedah is an archipelago of 104 islands in the Andman Sea,  some 30 km off the mainland coast of northwestern  Malaysia, separated from mainland Malaysia by the Strait of Melacca, The islands are a part of the state of Kedah, which is adjacent to the Thailand border. On July 15, 2008, SULTAN ABDUL HALIM of Kedah had consented to the change of name to Langkawi Permata Kedah in conjunction with his Golden Jublee Celebration. Langkawi is also an administrative district with the town of KUAH as largest town. Langkawi is a DUTY FREE  island. Only four of the total  islands are inhabited - Pulau Langkawi (the main island), Pulau Tuba, Pulau Rebak and Pulau Dayang Bunting. The population is approximately 99000 of which 90% are Malays. The other ethnic groups  consist mainly of Chinese , Indians and Thais.

The island's oldest geological formation, GUNUNG MATCHINCANG, was the first part of South-East Asia to rise from the Seabed in the Cambrian period more than half a billion years ago. The oldest part of the formation is observable at Teluk Datai to the north-west of the Island, where the exposed outcrop consists of mainly Sandstone (quartzite) in the upper parts and Shale and mudstone in the lower parts of the sequence.

Picture Links of My Langkawi Travel;
1)Pictures Set 1
2)Pictures - Feeding
3) Pictures-Peaks & Caves